It’s Been a While

So I know it’s been a while since I posted anything. Truth is I just haven’t had much to say. It has been 3 weeks since my 4th and final of the first round of treatments. My Dr. and I agree that this first round was a success because we can no longer physically feel the tumor. This is such a huge blessing! 

I’ve spent the past 2 and a half weeks in Florida, recouping at my parents house. It was so nice to spend time with my family. The first week there was pretty rough but each day that went by I had a little bit more energy and stamina to venture out. One of my favorite days was kayaking. It was so nice, we floated along calm mangrove tunnels where the water was crystal clear. We played “I spy” forever trying to find neat living creatures. We found many different fish, star fish, corals, sponges, crabs, shells and more! We stumbled upon a jellyfish field. While floating along we thought it was just grass below us, but the closer we looked we realized there were literally thousands of upside down jellyfish! Here is where chad flipped one over with his paddle! So tomorrow we are back to reality! Back home, back to school and work, back to the cold and back to treatments. The last 2 weeks were so wonderful, for a while just pretending I wasn’t a cancer patient. I feel like I’ve felt sick all day. I’m assuming because of the anticipation of tomorrow and knowing what follows. They say this round of treatment will be easier than what I just finished but I think I just can’t believe it yet. I can’t help but wonder if I really need this treatment since my body reacted so well to the last. What if all of the cancer cells are gone? I wish there was a way to tell! I really want to have my surgery and be done with this but the Dr. says this is the best chance of getting all of the cells. So I’m trusting the experts and carrying on. I saw this quote and it reminded me of my situation.As I tip toe through this, I have to keep reminding myself that this is saving my life!  That each day, each treatment, is a small step in one of the biggest steps of my life. I am so thankful for all that have been there for me and continue to help me through this. I don’t know where I would be with out all of the encouraging texts, calls, cards, everyone who has brought a meal and helped with Hayden and Eli, cleaned my house and sat with me at treatments. My family and friends are everything to me and it’s times like this that we understand why! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Karalee says:

    Thanks for the post. The pictures are fantastic! We saw Eli today at lunch. He is so sweet!

    Keeping you and the family in our prayers!

    Love you!

    Like

  2. Vicki Sigman says:

    I am so happy you were able to enjoy the time away with your family. You and Chad seem to be having a great time.
    I pray this round of treatments will be easier for you. Please know I am here for you.
    I Love You!
    Aunt Vicki

    Like

Leave a Reply

